Robert J. Tiffin Student Leadership Award

The Robert J. Tiffin Student Leadership Awards recognize students whose leadership has contributed to the growth, development and vitality of York University. Both undergraduate and graduate students who apply for these awards are role models who exhibit leadership, dedication, integrity, enthusiasm and the pursuit of excellence through their endeavors.

These awards are named after Robert Tiffin who served as York University’s Vice-President of Students over 9 years. During this time, Tiffin transformed his operation into one of the most professional student service organizations in the country, serving one of Canada’s largest student populations. This transformation required strong leadership, dedication, integrity and fairness. With this award now being in its 11th year, it is these qualities that we continue to recognize in our student leaders.

Students may only receive one Robert J. Tiffin Student Leadership Award in their academic career at York (i.e., undergraduate award winners may not be nominated again during graduate studies).

Nomination packages are submitted online using a form and must include:

  • a primary nominator submission (maximum of 500 words);
  • a secondary nominator representing one nominating constituency (York University students, staff, faculty or alumni) not represented by the primary nominator (maximum of 350 words);
  • a candidate submission that describes how co-curricular involvement at York University has affected their post-secondary experience and helped to enhance the quality of life on campus (maximum of 500 words); and
  • a current resumé/CV, including detailed descriptions of involvement at the University, submitted by the student.

The 2024 nomination deadline has now closed.


Congratulations to the following students were the recipients of the 2023 Robert Tiffin Student Leadership Award!

  • Alita Gideon
  • Amireza Nikzadfar Goli
  • Ana Kraljević
  • Ariana Mah
  • Arman Sadr
  • Christina Da Costa
  • Kaye Trishia Canoy
  • Mohamed Elsayed Elghobashy
  • Mustafa Abdulkadhim
  • Nathi Zamisa
  • Prabhjee Singh
placeholder for module 19


Do you have questions about the Robert J. Tiffin Student Leadership award?